1. Learning & teaching
  1. Educational Technology Workshops
  • Educational Technology Workshops

    Educational Technology Workshops and Drop-ins (January - April 2020)

    New to Moodle (Academic)

    The session includes an introduction to Moodle and provides the basic skills required to set up a module in Moodle for lecturers. The workshop will run through an overview of Moodle navigation and organisation, creating and updating content and adding activities to a Moodle module. We will also explore the most common assessment types and communication methods available to you in Moodle.

    Thurs 30th Jan, 11:00-12:00, B310 University Building

    Tues 11th Feb, 11:00-12:00, B310 University Building

    Introduction to Lecture Capture

    A short session providing an overview of lecture capture. We will go through the steps required before, during and after your lecture(s) to ensure that they are recorded and made available to your students in an appropriate format.

    Tues 28th Jan, 14:00-15:00, B310, University Building

    Mon 2nd Mar, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building - Cancelled

    Introduction to AV Podiums Pods

    A short hands-on session providing an overview of the teaching pods. We will go through how to present your lesson content to students by using the in-built windows PC, laptop connectivity and visualiser, and how to monitor and control lecture capture recordings.

    Weds 22nd Jan, 14:30-15:00, AG21, College Building

    Weds 12th Feb, 15:00-15:30, AG21, College Building

    Tues 24th Mar, 13:30-14:00, AG21, College Building

    Moodle assignments: Managing offline feedback and grading

    A practical session exploring the processes for managing offline feedback and grading on Moodle assignments using such features as bulk download/upload and grading worksheets.

    Fri 21st Feb, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building

    Mon 9th Mar, 14:00-15:00, B310, University Building

    Managing online assessment using Turnitin

    The session includes an introduction to Turnitin and provides skills required to use Feedback Studio effectively to grade and provide feedback. The workshop will run through Turnitin essentials such as adding comments, providing general feedback and using rubrics to mark students' work.

    Tues 4th Feb, 14:00-15:00, B310, University Building

    Thurs 19th Mar, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building

    An Introduction to Moodle quizzes

    Quizzes provide an easy way to include formative and summative assessment in your module that you don't have to mark.  This session will look at how to set up Moodle Quizzes, use different question types and customise feedback.

    Thurs 6th Feb, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building

    Weds 4th March, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building

    Interpreting Turnitin similarity reports

    This session will show you how to interpret Turnitin reports. By looking at and discussing reports, you will learn to recognise if an assignment has been referenced correctly, if a student needs additional guidance on referencing or if there is evidence of academic misconduct.

    Tues 18th February, 14:40-15:30, B310, University Building

    Weds 25th Mar, 12:00-13:00, B310, University Building

    DIY Screencasts

    This is a hands-on session to demonstrate screen recording tools available to all City staff. You will learn how to create your own videos at your desk in a simple and effective way. We will also explore why you may want to use this approach in teaching and learning.

    Tues 25th Feb, 12:00-13:00, B310, University Building

    Thurs 5th Mar, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building

    CampusPress Technical

    This session provides an introduction to the technical aspects of creating a blog using CampusPress. The session will cover: tips for planning your blog, an overview of different blog purposes, selecting a blog theme, creating blog navigation, blog structure and users roles.

    Thurs 23rd Jan, 12:00-13:00, B310, University Building

    Fri 13th Mar, 12:00-13:00, B310, University Building Cancelled

    Introduction to Poll Everywhere

    An interactive session on Poll Everywhere. Participating via this student response system, you will discover how to create your own polls and questions, and how they can improve engagement and participation.

    Thurs 13th Feb, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building

    Tues 24th Mar, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building (Please note: rescheduled from Tuesday 17th March)

    Sign up to the workshops

    Educational Technology Drop-ins

    From January, the Educational Technology team will be offering individual face-to-face help on Wednesday and Thursday afternoons. There’s no need to book, just drop in.

    Location: Room B310, University Building

    We will also be available online, via Adobe Connect. Click on the meeting room link to connect to us.
    https://city.adobeconnect.com/edtech-dropins/

    January

    Wednesday 8th January, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 9th January, 13:30-15:00

    Tuesday 14th January, 13:30-15:00 (please note change of day)

    Wednesday 15th January, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 22nd January, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 23rd January, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 29th January, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 30th January, 13:30-15:00

    February

    Wednesday 5th February, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 6th February, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 12th February, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 13th February, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 19th February, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 20th February, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 26th February, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 27th February, 13:30-15:00

    March

    Wednesday 4th March, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 5th March, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 11th March, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 12th March, 13:30-15:00

    Monday 16th March, 13:30-15:00

    Tuesday 17th March, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 18th March, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 19th March, 13:30-15:00

    Friday 20th March, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 25th March, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 26th March, 13:30-15:00

    April

    Wednesday 1st April, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 2nd April, 13:30-15:00

    LEaD Writing Group

    Are you interested in blogging, but not sure where to start? Never quite manage to find the time to sit down and do that piece of writing you’ve been putting off? This message is to let you know about the monthly LEaD Writing Group and invite you to join us.

    Since 2016, we’ve run an informal writing group within LEaD that focuses on support for blogging and giving participants some time and space to catch up on a little writing. It’s a monthly 60min event, typically held in B310 (the LEaD Training Room, at Northampton Square). Experienced bloggers, those new to it, or those thinking about starting one – all are welcome, as are those just looking for a quiet half an hour to finish off a paper or something.

    This week, we reopen for a new year, with a session on Thursday January 9th, from 12:00 – 13:00. Sounds like your kind of thing? Then…

    …or you’re welcome to just turn up on the day.