1. Learning & teaching
  1. Educational Technology Workshops
  • Educational Technology Workshops

    Educational Technology Workshops and Drop-ins (September – December 2019)

    New to Moodle (Academic)

    The session includes an introduction to Moodle and provides the basic skills required to set up a module in Moodle for lecturers. The workshop will run through an overview of Moodle navigation and organisation, creating and updating content and adding activities to a Moodle module. We will also explore the most common assessment types and communication methods available to you in Moodle.

    Weds 25th Sept, 11:00-12:00, B310 University Building

    Thurs 17th Oct, 11:00-12:00, B310 University Building

    Introduction to Lecture Capture

    A short session providing an overview of lecture capture. We will go through the steps required before, during and after your lecture(s) to ensure that they are recorded and made available to your students in an appropriate format.

    Tues 15 Oct, 14:00-15:00, B310, University Building

    Thurs 14 Nov, 11:00-12:00, B310, University Building

    Introduction to Teaching Pods

    A short hands-on session providing an overview of the teaching pods. We will go through how to present your lesson content to students by using the in-built windows PC, laptop connectivity and visualiser, and how to monitor and control lecture capture recordings.

    Weds 9th Oct, 14:00-14:30, AG21, College Building

    Weds 23rd Oct, 15:30-16:00, AG21, College Building

    Thurs 7th Nov, 14:30-15:00, AG21, College Building

    Sign up to the workshop

    Educational technology Drop-ins

    From September 26th, the Educational Technology team will be offering individual face-to-face help on Wednesday and Thursday afternoons. There’s no need to book, just drop in.

    Location: Room B310, University Building

    We will also be available online, via Adobe Connect. Click on the meeting room link to connect to us.
    https://city.adobeconnect.com/edtech-dropins/

    September Thursday 26th September, 13:30-15:00
    October

    Wednesday 2nd October, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 3nd October, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 9th October, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 10th October, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 16th October, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 17th October, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 23rd October, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 24th October, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 30th October, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 31st October, 13:30-15:00

    November

    Wednesday 6th November, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 7th November, 13:30-15:00

    Tuesday 12th November (please note change of day), 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 14th November, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 20th November, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 21st November, 13:30-15:00

    Wednesday 27th November, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 28th November, 13:30-15:00

    December

    Wednesday 4th December, 13:30-15:00

    Thursday 5th December, 13:30-15:00

    Moodle Refresher (July-September 2019)

    Join us for an hour-long refresher session on Moodle and other educational technologies. We will introduce the new Moodle 3.6 improvements and then provide a pick-and-mix of interactive activities on other technologies. Take part in as many or as few as you want. Topics will include the new control lecture capture controls on the DALI presentation pods, creating screencasts on Kaltura Capture and an introduction to the dos and don'ts of digital accessibility.

    Session Details

    Please indicate in the sign up form which session you would like to attend. Please select the last option if you would like to attend but cannot make the sessions listed below and a colleague from the Educational Technology Team will get in touch.

    July

    31st July (Wednesday) 14:00-15:00 Northampton Square

    August

    6th August (Tuesday) 14:00-15:00 Northampton Square

    14th August (Wednesday) 11:00-12:00 Northampton Square

    20th August (Tuesday) 15:00-16:00 Northampton Square

    22nd August (Thursday) 11:00-12:00 Bunhill Row

    28th August (Wednesday) 11:00-12:00 Grays Inn Place

    30th August; (Friday) 14:00-15:00 Northampton Square

    September

    3rd September (Tuesday) 14:00-15:00 Bunhill Row

    9th September (Monday) 15:00-16:00 Northampton Square

    13th September (Friday) 11:00-12:00 Northampton Square

    17th September (Tuesday) 14:00-15:00 Grays Inn Place

    19th September (Thursday) 14:00-15:00 Northampton Square

    23rd September (Monday) 11:00-12:00 Northampton Square

    Sign up to the workshop